Sandpoint Voluntary

I mentioned the Sand Points previously. I’m not sure if it’s one word or two. They are a popular way to get free water at Washaway Beach. You drive a screened 20-ft cast iron pipe down into the ground water, and voila!

Then, after your house falls into the ocean, the sand points endure as ever-changing sculpture and grave marker, rising and falling, twisting into arcs, loops and whorls, fingerprints, often the only trace remaining in this boneyard of guests and ghosts.

You may not remember this, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t make it up. I have this very vivid memory from, I think, “Sesame Street”, where beautiful time-lapse photographs of flowers opening in a spring rain were set to “Trumpet Voluntary”, Jeremiah Clarke’s composition, circa 1700, properly known as the March of the Prince of Denmark. It’s not to be confused with the theme from “Masterpiece Theater”, though I like playing that one too.

I can’t get this out of my mind, so I hope you will indulge me. Since I can’t be there to play it for you, and my trumpet high notes are iffy at best, I am outsourcing the music while I show you time-lapse photographs of years of sand points, my Washaway flowers.

Hey, that’s a saxophone.

 

About washybeach

Washaway Beach This Week is a blog by photojournalist Erika Langley. See more work at www.erikalangley.com.
This entry was posted in Sequences. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

